top

Contents

    What is basal joint arthritis?

    Wear and tear of the joint cartilage is a wear and tear of the joint cartilage that occurs insidiously, usually unnoticed at first. Wear and tear of the thumb saddle joint, also known as rhizarthrosis, can be very painful. In most cases, the cause is unknown and targeted therapy is not possible. If the cartilage protective layer is lost, the load is no longer dampened and evenly distributed.

    Unfortunately, cartilage damage cannot be completely reversed to date. At the beginning, the forces acting on the joint can be buffered by special thumb splints. Ibuprofen, diclofenac or the vegetable frankincense extract H15 are frequently used because they have an anti-inflammatory and analgesic effect. If these measures no longer help, a surgical intervention can be useful. Which of the various surgical treatments (e.g. fat stem cell treatment, denervation, resection arthroplasty) is the right one for you depends on your requirements and the degree of wear and tear.

    Resection arthroplasty is the procedure with the most experience. The worn large polygonal bone is removed via a small access on the outside of the ball of the thumb and the joint is stabilized with suture techniques.

    Autologous fat transfer

    Fat stem cell transplantation is a new minimally invasive treatment for joint wear. Stem cell therapy can be used as a curative treatment for minor joint degeneration in order to postpone a major intervention such as resection arthroplasty.

    The treatment costs are not covered by the health insurance companies. Nevertheless, the positive results of the autologous fat treatment of rhizarthrosis, which has been established since 2014, have been scientifically proven [1]. As a rule, pain relief and functional improvement can be expected for a period of at least 12 months.

    The cells can be gently aspirated from the abdomen, thighs, buttocks or knees. The suctioned fat tissue is cleaned and filtered several times. The cells are then injected into the thumb saddle joint. The stem cells from the fat tissue can develop into cartilage cells. In addition, the cells can lead to an improvement of the synovial fluid.

    How can you prepare for the procedure?

    • All your questions about possible complications and alternative treatments should be answered in advance.
    • Keep nicotine and alcohol consumption to a minimum!
    • Blood-thinning medication (e.g. ASA, Thomapyrin®) must be at least 10 days before the operation should be discontinued (after consultation with your treating doctor).
    • Vitamin preparations (A, E) & food supplements (omega-3 fatty acids, St. John’s wort preparations, etc.) must be min. 4 weeks before the rhizarthrosis operation.
    • Surgery limits the ability to travel by air. Therefore, do not plan any professional or private air travel during the 6 weeks after the operation!
    • Have ice cubes / cooling pads ready in your own four walls to cool the skin after the thumb saddle joint operation!

    How is the procedure performed?

    • The outpatient operation is performed under arm or general anaesthesia and lasts about 30 minutes.

    What do you need to keep in mind after the procedure?

    • Das Hochlagern und Kühlen der Hand in den ersten 72 Stunden ist sehr wichtig.
    • Immobilization is recommended for a total of 4 weeks (Palmare forearm wrist thumb splint with free interphalangeal joint in opposition and abduction of the thumb for 14 days; then middle hand thumb splint with release of the interphalangeal joint for a further 14 days).
    • Complete fist closure and finger stretching exercises should be performed several times per hour. All joints outside the splint must be fully moved several times an hour.
    • A silicone capillary drainage is removed on the 1st postoperative day if necessary, the skin threads are removed after 10 to 14 days.
    • Postoperative clinical check-ups are recommended on the 1st and 3rd postoperative day and after 1 and 2 and 4 weeks.
    • The independent scar massage from the 3rd postoperative week with moisturizing ointment (e.g. Bepanthen® wound and healing ointment, Linola® fat cream) helps to create inconspicuous soft scars.
    • A full load is possible from the 12th postoperative week.

    Download

    Google Rating
    4.8
    Based on 49 reviews
    ×

    The author

    Dr. med. Stéphane Stahl

    “We provide you with extensive expert knowledge so that we can work with you to select the best possible treatment path.”

    Dr. med. Stéphane steel is the former director of the Clinic for Plastic, Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery / Hand Surgery at the Lüdenscheid Clinic. Dr. Stahl studied medicine at the Universities of Freiburg and Berlin. In 2011 he passed the European and 2012 the German specialist examination for plastic and aesthetic surgery. Further specialist qualifications and additional qualifications followed (including quality management, medical didactics, physical therapy, emergency medicine, laser protection officers, hand surgery) as well as prizes and awards. In 2015 he completed his habilitation in plastic and aesthetic surgery in Tübingen. He is an experienced microsurgeon, a sought-after expert and a regular speaker at specialist congresses. After a multi-stage selection process, Stéphane Stahl became a member of the American Society for Aesthetic Plastic Surgery (ASAPS), one of the world’s largest and most influential specialist societies for aesthetic surgery. His authorship includes numerous articles in respected peer review journals and standard surgical textbooks.

    References[+]

    Do you have anymore questions? - Use our quick contact form

    Thank you for your message. It has been sent.

    There was an error. Please try again later.

top

Inhaltsverzeichnis

    Was ist eine Rhizarthrose?

    Ein Gelenkverschleiß ist eine Abnutzung des Gelenkknorpels, die schleichend, anfangs meist unbemerkt auftritt. Verschleißerscheinungen des Daumensattelgelenks, auch Rhizarthrosen genannt, können sehr schmerzhaft sein. In den meisten Fällen ist die Ursache unbekannt und eine gezielte Therapie nicht möglich. Ist die Knorpelschutzschicht verloren, wird die einwirkende Belastung nicht mehr gedämpft und gleichmäßig verteilt.

    Ein Knorpelschaden lässt sich leider bis dato nicht vollständig rückgängig machen. Zu Beginn können die auf das Gelenk einwirkenden Kräfte durch spezielle Daumenschienen abgepuffert werden. Ibuprofen, Diclofenac oder das pflanzliche Weihrauchextrakt H15 werden häufig eingesetzt, da sie entzündungshemmend und schmerzlindernd wirken. Wenn diese Maßnahmen nicht mehr helfen, kann ein chirurgischer Eingriff sinnvoll sein. Welche der unterschiedlichen operativen Behandlungen (z. B. Fettstammzellbehandlung, Denervierung, Resektionsarthroplastik) für Sie individuell die richtige ist, richtet sich nach Ihren Anforderungen und der Ausprägung des Verschleißes.

    Die Resektionsarthroplastik ist das Verfahren mit den meisten Erfahrungswerten. Über einen kleinen Zugang an der Außenseite des Daumenballens wird das verschlissene große Vieleckbein entfernt und das Gelenk mit Nahttechniken stabilisiert.

    Eigenfettbehandlung des Daumensattelgelenks

    Die Fettstammzelltransplantation ist eine neue minimal-invasive Behandlung des Gelenkverschleißes. Die Stammzelltherapie kann bei gering ausgeprägtem Gelenkverschleiß als Heilversuch durchgeführt werden, um einen größeren Eingriff wie die Resektionsarthroplastik aufzuschieben.

    Die Behandlungskosten werden nicht von den Krankenkassen übernommen. Dennoch sind die positiven Ergebnisse der seit 2014 etablierten Eigenfettbehandlung der Rhizarthrose wissenschaftlich belegt [1]. In der Regel kann mit einer Schmerzlinderung und Funktionsverbesserung für die Dauer von mindestens 12 Monaten gerechnet werden.

    Die Zellen können vom Bauch, den Oberschenkeln, dem Po oder von den Knien schonend abgesaugt werden. Das abgesaugte Fettgewebe wird mehrfach gereinigt und gefiltert. Anschließend werden die Zellen in das Daumensattelgelenk injiziert. Die Stammzellen aus dem Fettgewebe können sich zu Knorpelzellen entwickeln. Darüber hinaus können die Zellen zu einer Verbesserung der Gelenkschmiere führen.

    Wie können Sie sich auf den Eingriff vorbereiten?

    • Fragen zu möglichen Komplikationen der OP und alternative Behandlungen sollten im Vorfeld beantwortet sein.
    • Schränken Sie den Nikotin- und Alkoholkonsum unbedingt auf ein Minimum ein!
    • Blutverdünnende Medikamente (z. B. ASS, Thomapyrin®) müssen mind. 10 Tage vor der Operation abgesetzt werden (nach Rücksprache mit Ihrem behandelnden Arzt).
    • Vitaminpräparate (A, E) & Nahrungsergänzungsmittel (Omega-3-Fettsäuren, Johanniskraut-Präparate usw.) müssen mind. 4 Wochen vor der Rhizarthrose-OP abgesetzt werden.
    • Operationen schränken die Flugreisetauglichkeit ein. Planen Sie daher in den 6 Wochen nach der Operation keine Flugreisen, beruflich wie privat!
    • Legen Sie sich in ihren eigenen 4 Wänden Eiswürfel / Kühlpads bereit, um die Haut nach der Daumensattelgelnks-OP zu kühlen!

    Wie wird der Eingriff durchgeführt?

    • Die ambulante Operation erfolgt in Armbetäubung oder Vollnarkose und dauert ca. 30 Minuten.

    Was müssen Sie nach dem Eingriff beachten?

    • Das Hochlagern sowie Kühlen der Hand in den ersten 72 Stunden ist sehr wichtig.
    • Eine Ruhigstellung wird für insgesamt 4 Wochen empfohlen (Palmare-Unterarm-Handgelekenks-Daumen-Gipsschiene mit freiem Interphalangeal Gelenk in Opposition und Abduktion des Daumen für 14 Tage; dann Mittelhand-Daumenschiene unter Freilassung des Interphalangealgelenkes für weitere 14 Tage).
    • Stündlich sollten mehrmals vollständige Faustschluss- und Fingerstreckungsübungen durchgeführt werden. Alle Gelenke außerhalb der Schiene müssen mehrmals pro Stunde und in vollem Umfang bewegt werden.
    • Eine Kapillardrainage aus Silikon wird ggf. am 1. postoperativen Tag entfernt, die Hautfäden werden nach ca. 10 – 14 Tagen entfernt.
    • Postoperative Kontrollen in der Praxis empfehlen sich am 1. und 3. postoperativen Tag sowie nach 1, 2 und 4 Wochen.
    • Die selbstständige Narbenmassage ab der 3. postoperativen Woche mit einer rückfettenden Salbe (z. B. Bepanthen® Wund- und Heilsalbe oder der Linola® Fett Creme) verhilft zu unscheinbaren und weichen Narben.
    • Eine Vollbelastung ist ab der 12. postoperativen Woche möglich.

    Download

    Google Bewertung
    4.8
    Basierend auf 49 Rezensionen
    ×

    Zum Autor

    Privatdozent Dr. Stéphane Stahl

    “Wir liefern Ihnen umfangreiches Experten-Wissen, um gemeinsam mit Ihnen den bestmöglichen Behandlungsweg auszuwählen.”

    Privatdozent Dr. med. Stéphane Stahl ist ehemaliger Direktor der Klinik für Plastische, Rekonstruktive und Ästhetische Chirurgie / Handchirurgie am Klinikum Lüdenscheid. Dr. Stahl studierte Medizin an den Universitäten Freiburg und Berlin. 2011 legte er die Europäische und 2012 die Deutsche Facharztprüfung für Plastische und Ästhetische Chirurgie ab. Es folgten weitere Facharztqualifikationen und Zusatzqualifikationen (u.a. Qualitätsmanagement, Medizindidaktik, Physikalische Therapie, Notfallmedizin, Laserschutzbeauftragte, Handchirurgie) sowie Preise und Auszeichnungen. 2015 habilitierte er sich im Fach Plastische und Ästhetische Chirurgie in Tübingen. Er ist ein erfahrener Mikrochirurg, gefragter Gutachter und regelmäßiger Referent auf Fachkongressen. Stéphane Stahl wurde nach einem mehrstufigen Auswahlverfahren zum Mitglied der American Society for Aesthetic Plastic Surgery (ASAPS), eine der weltweit größten und einflussreichsten Fachgesellschaften für Ästhetische Chirurgie. Zu seinen Autorenschaften gehören u.a. zahlreiche Beiträge in angesehenen peer review Zeitschriften und chirurgischen Standardlehrwerken.

    References[+]

    Haben Sie noch Fragen? – Nutzen Sie unser Schnell-Kontaktformular

    Vielen Dank für deine Nachricht. Sie wurde gesendet.

    There was an error. Please try again later.