top

Sculptra®- Information about the product

Get more information about the injection product Sculptra.

What is Sculptra®?

Sculptra® (other name New Fill®) was approved in Europe in 1999 and in the USA in 2004. Sculptra® is used for volume building and skin rejuvenation. The drug was developed by European Aesthetics, then Sanofi-Aventis and later acquired by Sinclair Pharma and in March 2020 by Galderma. One Sculptra® ampoule contains 150 milligrams of poly-L-lactic acid (40%), 90 milligrams of sodium carboxymethylcellulose (24%) and 127.5 milligrams of mannitol (35%) in a freeze-dried state. Poly-L-lactic acid (PLLA) is produced by polymerization of lactic acid. Lactic acid is produced by fermentation from sugar and starch. The production was first patented by Du Pont in 1954. The poly-L-lactic acid molecules have a mass of 140 kilodaltons and a diameter of two to sixty micrometers. Poly-L-lactic acid has been used for decades. Poly-L-lactic acid is a component of absorbable suture material (for example Vycril® sutures), screws and plates for the treatment of bone fractures and drug carriers.

What are the areas of application for Sculptra®?

Sculptra® is used to build volume in the face. Poly-L-lactic acid injection also leads to an improvement in skin quality (Bohnert K., et al., 2019, Dermatol Surg). The areas of application for Sculptra® include:

  • Reduction of skin redness on the face
  • Skin smoothing
  • Treatment of skin spots
  • Refining skin pores
  • Treatment of wrinkles on the neck and décolleté
  • Hand rejuvenation
  • Improvement of skin quality on the arms
  • Collagen booster for thighs
  • Treatment of pregnancy stripes on the abdomen
  • Helps to have a firmer and fuller buttocks
  • Acne scar treatment
  • Reduction of chickenpox scars
  • Improves the appearance of the skin with Celullite

Wrinkle treatment with Sculptra®

During the consultation, your goals are first discussed. The contours and skin quality are examined and documented photographically. We will advise you in detail about the various treatment options. All the advantages and disadvantages will be discussed with you. A treatment plan will be developed together with you. One day before the treatment, the Sculptra® is dissolved in distilled water. A local anesthetic is added to the solution. The skin surface anesthetized with a cream. The use of a vibrating rod (vibration anesthesia) additionally reduces the sensation of pain. Pleasant background music helps to relax and distract. The best results are achieved after three to four repetitions at intervals of four to six weeks. The experience of the first treatment does not allow the tension before the second treatment to arise in the first place.

What does a Sculptra® treatment cost?

Treatment costs are largely determined by the amount of Sculptra® required. The larger the area to be treated, the greater the treatment effort. You can get an overview of the prices on our cost page.

How long does Sculptra® last?

The half-life of poly-L-lactic acid in the body is estimated to be 31 days, with complete degradation taking 18 to 24 months (Athanasiou KA, et al, 1995, Clin Podiatr Med Surg). The reaction with water splits the lactic acid chains into individual lactic acid building blocks (hydrolysis). Over time, the lactic acid is taken up by phagocytes (macrophages). Enzymes metabolize the lactic acid to pyruvate, then to an acetic acid residue (acetyl-coenzyme A) and finally carbon dioxide. The immune system reaction subsides within 6 months. However, the production of collagen lasts up to two years. This leads to a gradual increase in skin thickness.

Sculptra® versus Radiesse®

Sculptra® and Radiesse® are very different products. They have only a few things in common. The duration of action of both active substances is one to two years. Fillers are called semi-permanent because the ingredients are broken down by the body over the years. Both Sculptra® and Radiesse® are suitable for injections into medium and deep skin layers.

Radiesse® effect:

Radiesse® primarily replaces lost volume. The volume increase is visible immediately. The changes are predictable and consistent. After nine months, enzymes break down the filler material. After eighteen months, 87 percent of patients are still satisfied. A temporary hematoma is seen in five percent of cases (Jacovella P. F., et al., 2006, Plast Reconstr Surg). Allergic reaction are very unlikely.

Sculptra® effect:

Sculptra® is used for skin rejuvenation. Lactic acid injection triggers increased collagen production. The effect becomes increasingly clear after two to three boosters at intervals of four to six weeks (Vleggaar D., et al., 2004, J Drugs Dermatol). Especially the formation of collagen type 1, which is increased in youthful skin, is stimulated. A tightening effect of the skin is achieved. This is where the term Liquid Lifting comes from.

Synonyms:

New Fill®

Continuing topics:

Back

Do you have any questions?

Thank you for your message. It has been sent.

There was an error. Please try again later.

Was ist Sculptra®?

Sculptra® (anderer Name New Fill®) wurde in Europa 1999 und in den USA 2004 zugelassen. Sculptra® dient dem Volumenaufbau und der Hautverjüngung. Das Präparat wurde von European Aesthetics entwickelt, dann von Sanofi-Aventis und später von Sinclair Pharma und im März 2020 von Galderma übernommen. Eine Sculptra® Ampulle enthält 150 Milligramm Poly-L-Milchsäure (40%), 90 Milligramm Natrium-Karboxymethylcellulose (24%) und 127,5 Milligramm Mannitol (35%) in gefriergetrocknetem Zustand. Die Poly-L-Milchsäure (PLLA) wird durch Polymerisation von Milchsäure hergestellt. Milchsäure entsteht durch Fermentation aus Zucker und Stärke. Die Herstellung wurde erstmals 1954 von Du Pont patentiert. Die Poly-L-Milchsäure Moleküle haben eine Masse von 140 Kilodalton und einen Durchmesser von zwei bis sechzig Mikrometer. Poly-L-Milchsäure wird seit Jahrzehnten eingesetzt. Poly-L-Milchsäure ist Bestandteil von resorbierbarem Nahtmaterial (zum Beispiel Vycril® Fäden), Schrauben und Platten zur Versorgung von Knochenbrüchen und Medikamententrägern.

Was sind die Einsatzgebiete von Sculptra®?

Sculptra® wird zum Aufbau von Volumen im Gesicht eingesetzt. Die Unterspritzung von Poly-L-Milchsäure führt auch zu einer Verbesserung der Hautqualität (Bohnert K., et al., 2019, Dermatol Surg). Zu den Einsatzgebieten von Sculptra® gehört unter anderem:

  • Verringerung von Hautrötung im Gesicht
  • Hautglättung
  • Behandlung von Hautflecken
  • Verfeinern von Hautporen
  • Behandlung von Falten am Hals und Dekolleté
  • Handverjüngung
  • Verbesserung der Hautqualität an den Armen
  • Collagen Booster für die Oberschenkel
  • Behandlung von Schwangerschaftstreifen am Bauch
  • Verhilft zu einem strafferen und vollerem Po
  • Behandlung von Aknenarben
  • Reduzierung von Windpocken-Narben
  • Verbessert das Hautbild bei Celullite

Faltenbehandlung mit Sculptra®

Im Beratungsgespräch werden zunächst Ihre Ziele besprochen. Die Konturen und die Hautqualität werden untersucht und fotographisch dokumentiert. Wir beraten Sie ausführlich über die verschiedenen Behandlungsmöglichkeiten. Sämtliche Vor- und Nachteile werden mit Ihnen besprochen. Zusammen mit Ihnen wird ein Behandlungsplan aufgestellt. Ein Tag vor der Behandlung wird das Sculptra® in destilliertem Wasser aufgelöst. Die Lösung wird mit einem örtlichen Betäubungsmittel versetzt. Die Hautoberfläche mit einer Creme betäubt. Die Anwendung eines Rüttelstabes (Vibrationsanästhesie) vermindert zusätzlich das Schmerzempfinden. Eine angenehme Hintergrundmusik trägt zur Entspannung und Ablenkung bei. Die besten Ergebnisse werden nach drei bis vier Wiederholungen im Abstand von vier bis sechs Wochen erreicht. Die Erfahrung der ersten Behandlung lässt die Anspannung vor zweiten Behandlung gar nicht erst aufkommen.

Was kostet eine Sculptra® Behandlung?

Die Behandlungskosten werden maßgeblich durch die benötigte Menge an Sculptra® bestimmt. Je größer die zu behandelnde Fläche, desto größer ist auch der Aufwand der Behandlung. Eine Übersicht über die Preise bekommen Sie auf unserer Kostenseite.

Wie lange hält Sculptra®?

Die Halbwertszeit der Poly-L-Milchsäure im Körper wird auf 31 Tage geschätzt, wobei der vollständige Abbau 18 bis 24 Monate dauern kann (Athanasiou KA, et al., 1995, Clin Podiatr Med Surg). Durch die Reaktion mit Wasser werden die Milchsäure Ketten in einzelne Milchsäure Bausteine gespalten (Hydrolyse). Mit der Zeit wird die Milchsäure von Fresszellen (Makrophagen) aufgenommen. Enzyme verstoffwechseln die Milchsäure zu Pyruvat, dann zu einem Essigsäurerest (Acetyl-Coenzym A) und schließlich Kohlendioxid. Die Reaktion des Immunsystems klingt innerhalb von 6 Monaten ab. Die Produktion von Kollagen hält jedoch bis zu zwei Jahre an. Das führt zu einer allmählichen Zunahme der Hautdicke.

Sculptra® versus Radiesse®

Sculptra® und Radiesse® sind sehr unterschiedliche Produkte. Sie haben nur wenige Gemeinsamkeiten. Die Wirkungsdauer beider Wirkstoffe beträgt ein bis zwei Jahre. Die Filler werden als semi-permanent bezeichnet, da die Inhaltsstoffe über die Jahre vom Körper abgebaut werden. Sowohl Sculptra® wie auch Radiesse® sind für die Unterspritzung in mitteltiefe und tiefe Hautschichten geeignet.

Radiesse® Wirkung:

Radiesse® ersetzt vor allem verlorengegangenes Volumen. Der Volumenaufbau ist sofort sichtbar. Die Veränderungen sind berechenbar und beständig. Nach neun Monaten bauen Enzyme das Füllmaterial ab. Nach achtzehn Monaten sind noch 87 Prozent der Patienten zufrieden. In fünf Prozent der Fälle ist ein vorrübergehender Bluterguss zu beobachten (Jacovella P. F., et al., 2006, Plast Reconstr Surg). Allergische Reaktion sind sehr unwahrscheinlich.

Sculptra® Wirkung:

Sculptra® dient der Hautverjüngung. Die Unterspritzung der Milchsäure löst eine vermehrte Kollagen Produktion aus. Der Effekt wird nach zwei bis drei Auffrischungen im Abstand von vier bis sechs Wochen immer deutlicher (Vleggaar D., et al., 2004, J Drugs Dermatol). Besonders die Bildung des Kollagen Typ 1, das in jugendlicher Haut vermehrt vorliegt, wird angeregt. Es wird ein Straffungseffekt der Haut erreicht. Daher leitet sich der Begriff Liquid Lifting ab.

Autorenhinweis

Autor: PD Dr. Stéphane Stahl. Es bestehen keine finanziellen Beziehungen zur Pharma- oder Medizinprodukteindustrien, die den o.g. Text beeinflusst haben könnten. Jede Vervielfältigung, auch ausschnittweise, ist nur für den persönlichen Gebrauch erlaubt. Alle auf dieser Internetpräsenz verwendeten Texte sind urheberrechtlich geschützt.

Haben Sie noch Fragen? – Nutzen Sie unser Schnell-Kontaktformular

Ihr Centerplast-Team um PD Dr. Stéphane Stahl und Dr. Adelana Santos Stahl berät Sie gern.

Nach oben
Button Focus Gesundheit Arztsuche Button Estheticon Button Jameda Button Qualitätssiegel myBody
Logo Deutsche Gesellschaft der Plastischen, Rekonstruktiven und Ästhetischen Chirurgen Logo The American Society for Aesthetic Plastic Surgery Logo ICOPLAST Logo Sociedade Brasileira de Cirurgia Plástica Logo E.S.P.R.A.S Logo Deutsche Gesellschaft für Handchirurgie Logo Deutsche Gesellschaft für ästhetische Botulinum- und Fillertherapie e.V. Logo Federation of European Societies for Surgery of the Hand